top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Linford

Sometimes you have to use some 3rd Party content

When making a piece of work like this, sometimes you have to use some 3rd party content.


3rd party content is content that you did not film or record yourself and therefore do not own the copyright too.


Luckily for this project the majority of my footage I filmed myself. Even the events footage that I have used I filmed over summer whilst volunteering for Hot Radio.


But despite filming/ recording as much as I could there were still a few 3rd party elements I had to included to finalise the project.


One thing I had to bear in mind when figuring out what 3rd party content and how much of it I was going to use was the fact that my project wad limited to only using 10% (42 seconds) of 3rd party material. For a 7 minute documentary, particularly one related to music, 42 seconds is not a lot of time at all however I managed to make it work.


The other thing I had to bear in mind when finding the content is that I am not breaching any copyright laws by using the content. I either had to ask for permission from the copyright owners or use copy right free organisations.


Also the University have stated that any 3rd Party content must be clearly labelled on Screen therefore any I use I have to label witch quite honestly makes me want to use as little as possible just so that it doesn't ruin the quality of the onscreen visuals.



3rd Party Videos

Using a copy right free site called https://pixabay.com/ to find two short videos that I needed for my Intro and Outro. One was a video of someone being live on instagram at a music event and the other was someone scrolling through a social media platform.


Both clips were 4 seconds long meaning using them equaled 10 seconds of my 42 seconds already gone.



3rd Party Music

As my project was about the radio and music plays a huge part in the running of radio it was important to me to include some form of fun and upbeat music throughout the piece. Because of the time restrictions I couldn't use it the whole way through so I choose to find a audio clip and use it during:

  • The Intro

  • The Outro

  • The 3 breaker clips that break up the sections of the documentary

The music I choose was from a copy right free sight called https://freesound.org/browse/tags/sound-effects/ .


I edited the music to make it fade in and out to give a nice transition for when the music comes in and out.


Because I used this audio multiple times throughout it added up to 25 seconds worth of 3rd party content. That added with the video content left me with only 7 seconds left available for more 3rd party content.



3rd Party Photos

The last style of 3rd Party content I used was photos of some of the presenters at Hot Radio that I did not take myself.


I did use other photos (the younger volunteers ones) that I took myself and therefore do not count as 3rd party however I used 3 pictures of presenters that I did not take.


Because these images were not mine I asked the copyright owners if I could use them and they gave me their permission to do so.


These photos are on screen for 5 seconds meaning that I had now used 40 out of my 42 seconds.


These are the photos I used ^^



In total I used 40 seconds of 3rd party content to help make my documentary better and more fun to watch!







Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page