top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Linford

An overview of the editing process

The entire editing process took just under 2 weeks from start to finish.


As much as I am rather happy with the final outcome, the processes wasn't without its challenges...


Clips Jumping:

Because I couldn't use Premier Pro and therefore had to edit across two, a lot more basic, editing platforms, when editing certain footage, in-particular the clips of me presenting to camera, it was hard to cut out certain bits and still make it flow smoothly.


When exporting the final product I noticed a few clips that slightly glitch or jump due to the trimming tools on Canva and Rush not being as precise as on other softwares. I tried to re-cut these clips a few times but the sadly could not get them as spot on as I had hoped and therefore there are a few jumps in the finale edit that I could not remove.



On screen title glitches:

Another editing issue I noticed was that some on the on screen titles glitch slightly when they are supposed to fade off screen. Despite re-edting them multiple times I could seem to figure out what was coursing them to do this and therefore I had to leave them like that in the finale piece. Although this isn't an overly obvious issue it is still something I notice and therefore disappoints me.



Cutting down to 7 minutes:

The other thing throughout the whole editing process that I struggled with was ensuring that the end result was only 7 minutes long. Because of Canva's limited storage and editing tools I had to edit each 30 second section individually and then put them all together at the end using Adobe Rush. However as much as I had thought that I had stuck to exactly 30 seconds per section, some were either slightly under or slightly over leading to my finale clip being just under 8 minutes and I had to try and find areas to cut out.


Also because I was narrating throughout the majority of the project it meant that cutting things down was even harder because I couldn't cut any of the stuff I was saying out.


After re-watching the video time and time again I managed to cut it down to exactly 7 minutes by trimming off seconds from different areas of the documentary.




Despite these set backs and others I faced, the overall editing process was fun, creative and in my view went really well!




0 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page