top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalie Linford

Editing the beginning and ending

Now that I had gathered the majority of my footage I felt it was time to start putting the pieces together and beginning the editing process.


I wanted to do a tile style introduction with multiple different clips playing at the same time in a tile layout.


I had seen this style used before and felt it was creative, fun and also allowed to summarise the different elements of a piece of work easily.


I choose to have 9 different clips split into 3 categories:

  • Social media

  • Events

  • The Hot studio

I choose my clips and watched multiple tutorials on YouTube of how to complete this task and began editing in Premier Pro. Premier Pro is a software that I have learned to use over my time at university and therefore I felt very confidant that it was the right editing software to use for this entire project.


Editing the clips together wasn't an issue however my software was running very slow and struggling to render the clips therefore I couldn't watch the piece to see if it looked good. So I tried to export the intro to view it and thats when I discovered that were my laptop was old, it couldn't process the version of Premier Pro that I had and therefore every time I tried to export anything no matter how short or long, my laptop would crash and the export would fail.


I also tried completing this task at the university library however they did not have Premier Pro on their computers meaning I had no other option but to restart my editing in a different software that I hadn't used before.


I choose to use Canva & Adobe Rush to complete my editing as I had used Canva for other editing such as social media posts, and Adobe Rush is a smilier software to Premier Pro therefore I had some knowledge about how to use both softwares and didn't have to spend large amounts of my time learning a complete new software.


As much as this was a rather large set back, I managed to get the intro edited using Canva and got back on track with my project.



Editing the Credits:

As I mentioned the editing software issues meant I also had to edit the ending credit scene in Canva to. Canva as a software does not have no were near the amount of tools that Premier Pro has therefore the credit roll I wanted to do (With the credits rolling up the screen like they do normally) was no longer an option as Canva didn't have any features like that.


I still wanted the credits to look professional and as close to a credit roll as possible so I edited different transitions for the text until found the one that looked the closest to a credit roll and used that.


Despite the large software set back I still managed to put together an intro and outro that looks interesting and professional. It may not look exactly like I originally hoped it would but the end results were still something i'm very happy with.









Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page